Faith

DSC00635

Came across this pepul tree, near my house it was standing free,

For years and years it was the same – I can trust my memory.

Then one day as I walked past it and was not in a hurry,

I was taken aback by thick smoke in its periphery,

Felt protective and neared it with concern,

To check if there was a need to raise an alarm and take an action.

Shocked at the sight of bunches of incense sticks and earthen lamps around,

Choking the pepul and its roots beneath the ground.

It was being worshipped to ward off evil I was told,

If only evil and misfortune were as easy to avoid…..

I only incense sticks and earthen lamps could….

Faith can move mountains, I always knew,

But doing things blindly without reasoning will move nothing, that too I know.

2 thoughts on “Faith

Leave a Reply

