A day to remember

“For oft when on my couch I lie, in vacant or in pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye, which is the bliss of solitude.”

William Wordsworth’s famous lines here are so true with regard to almost anything, though he spoke about daffodils in this poem. Human beings are gifted with an amazing power – the memory! It is incredible the way it works – it gives pleasure, it gives pain……it brings back good times, it brings back bad; but it remains your companion always. The “bliss of solitude” experienced by Wordsworth owes its existence to it. The greatest tragedy ever can be to lose it…..it will be like losing a friend, a confidante.

Whenever I am free, I spend time with my memories and it helps me reflect over the years I have lived. A flashback begins and the movie starts as I start reliving the years gone by. I can  see, hear, feel and smell all that I have left behind – my childhood, my youth and all the people who have touched me in all these years….and then each day becomes a day to remember for me. Each day is so full of so many memories that when I press the rewind button I am transported immediately to that day many many years ago and I experience a flurry of emotions. They are sometimes pleasant and at others not so pleasant; but isn’t this what life is too – a blend of pleasant and less pleasant times…. Let us then try and make each day a day to remember – remember later in life when we get to enjoy the ‘bliss of solitude’.

Leave a Reply

